Collegiate School Holds Middle School Final Exercises

Collegiate School’s Middle School Final Exercises took place this morning, and 140 Middle School students received their certificates on the lawn of Flippen Hall in front of family, friends and faculty. The Middle School Band and Strings, Collegiate Orchestra and Select Chorus performed as part of the program.
Charlie Blair, Head of Middle School who is retiring after 41 years with Collegiate, spoke to the Class of 2023.

“Whether in the classroom, on the stage or the athletic field, you all have been a shining example of service,” he said. “We are proud of you. Thanks for your leadership. We wish you the best as you move on to the Upper School.”

Daisy Storey and Rohan Agarwal, co-chairs of the Middle School Council, addressed the crowd with thoughts on both their time in Middle School and their future as the class enters 9th Grade in the fall. Daisy likened Middle School years to an obstacle course, with new challenges in every grade. Her message was one of encouragement and humor, with a reminderthat no matter what obstacles they might face in the future, Middle School has prepared them well.

“These last four years have been transformative,” said Rohan, who went on to speak about excellence. “We have learned that excellence comes in all shapes and sizes, that it can be silent or loud. We are ready to find and pursue our passions in Upper School.”

Mr. Blair thanked the Class of 2023 for setting an example for the younger grades, through their kindness, respect for community, work ethic and enthusiasm for being lifelong learners.

Following the remarks, members of the Middle School faculty joined Mr. Blair in presenting awards and certificates.

Art Award
Cate Riley
Simms Murray

Drama Award
Virginia Ballowe
Noah Williams

Dance Award
Abby Dunn

Adeline Cowles Cox Music Award
Piano - Anne Pearson Gremer
Strings - Simms Murray
Band - Matthew Woodhouse

Choral Music Award
Preston Foster

Science Award
Jordan Gross
Patrick Jacobs

Language Awards
Latin - Anne Henderer and Patrick Jacobs
French - Madeline Port and Michael West
Spanish - Lauren McCluskey and Rohan Agarwal
Chinese - Ellie Leipheimer and Eli Petty

Ferneyhough English Award
Nat Lurie

John P. Coates English Award
Michael West

Physical Education Award
Jordan Gross
Eli Petty

Technology Award
Isabelle Cross
William Tidey

History Award
Maia Zasler
Charlie Loach

Math Award
Vivian Sievers
Tyler Brand

Highest Academic Average - 8th Grade Year
Virginia Ballowe
Patrick Jacobs

Highest Academic Average - Four Years
Eli Petty
Vivian Sievers

Special Awards:
Hugh H. Addy Award
Rohan Agarwal

Director’s Award
Stan Craig

D.A.R. Citizenship Award
Patrick Jacobs
Daisy Storey

Fry Cup
Ellie Leipheimer

Sue H. Jett Award
Bowen Suro

– Aynsley Miller Fisher '93
No comments have been posted