Student Club Wins Youth Philanthropy Award

A Collegiate student-created club earned a youth philanthropy award today, and current student members were on hand to accept the honor.
The Association of Fundraising Professionals Central Virginia Chapter awarded the Youth Philanthropy of the Year Award to student club officers Sean McHugh, Shreya Sharma, Anya Sood and Sarah Robins.

Collegiate Cougars Mike Dowd, Coleman Wortham and Gray Fain (all Class of 2007 graduates) created Ramps Access Made Possible by Students (RAMPS) as Collegiate students in 2005. The club raises funds to purchase modular metal ramps that are installed at the homes of wheelchair-bound individuals. Last April, Collegiate’s club constructed and placed its 100th ramp.

“We had no idea what RAMPS would become,” Mr. Dowd said. “Once we realized the impact, we thought we could grow the organization and make even more of a difference in the region.”

The Collegiate students accepted the award along with David Headly, an Upper School science teacher, who has served as the club’s faculty sponsor for eight years.

AFP Central Virginia handed out the award at National Philanthropy Day at the Greater Richmond Convention Center. The Youth Philanthropy of the Year category recognizes an individual or group of young people who serve as leaders for a specific cause, role models for other youth, and who creatively design and implement a fundraising program.

Recent Collegiate alums David Angstadt, Ben Greer, Dalton Ruh, Gordon Granger and EJ Patterson (all Class of 2016 graduates) received the 2016 award for creating the Deb Angstadt Wiffle Ball Tournament, which has raised more than $20,000 for the organization Stand Up to Cancer since its inception.
No comments have been posted